Is Honey Vegan?

This often produces a contentious argument among those who are interested, and some beekeepers can find it hard to understand, but if you are going by The Vegan Society’s own definition which states that, “Veganism is a way of living which seeks to exclude, as far as is possible and practicable, all forms of exploitation of, and cruelty to, animals for food, clothing or any other purpose.” then honey cannot be seen as vegan, because of the exploitation element, bees produce honey as a food source for themselves and cannot consent to sharing it with us humans.

Some people also go further and point to the various practices of beekeepers such as using the swarm control method of clipping part of one of the wings of the queen so she cannot fly far from the hive when the bees do attempt to swarm, and the replacing of the extracted honey with sugar syrup or fondant as an alternative food supply for the bees to over winter with.

So, is honey vegan?  No.



Should Vegans eat honey - Vegans Disagree on Honeygate -

Is Honey Vegan -



* Inclusion here should not be understood to be any endorsement by the NSBKA of a website, the site's owners, their views or any products , the content shown is just provided for interest/entertainment.

The Association's apiary in North Shropshire


The Association maintains an apiary at an organic farm in North Shropshire. We hold regular meetings at the apiary during the summer, where members old and new can gain experience in handling bees.

Our Vision

visionWe encourage and develop
the art and science of bee keeping

visionWe strive to educate
Through group meetings, practical out apiary events and educational support 


The North Shropshire Beekeepers' Association - to encourage and develop the art and science of bee keeping